Birds of a feather…fly into a giant birdhouse?

Hello Everyone,

I wanted to take this opportunity to give you a bit of an update and show you all some pictures of what Meagan and I have been up to since arriving in Indonesia. Also, since this is Jessica and not Meagan writing this post, you can be assured that this will not be predominantly a rant about sheep (except to assert that everything would be better off if they were goats). I will, however, go on a short tangent about giant birdhouses.

 a photo of home         birds of a feather

The building that we are living in, which is also the office of the organization we are working with, is surrounded by a number of four story buildings which appear to be apartments or businesses but are, in fact, very large birdhouses. These birdhouses are built to attract a certain type of bird called an Edible-nest Swiftlet, who come and build their nests in the birdhouses. These nests are then sold around the world, particularly to China, where they are eaten and used mostly as the main ingredient in bird’s nest soup. The birdhouses even have counters to keep track of how many birds leave and enter, and are constantly playing recordings of the sounds the birds make in order to help attract them. This sounds like quite the process for a few tiny nests, but it can be quite the lucrative process considering the nests can sell for up to $100 a piece! That’s $2000 a kilogram! Anyway, now that you are considering why anyone would ever pay that much to eat a bird nest (they’re believed to have special medicinal properties), I will show you just a few photos so you can see what we’ve been up to lately.

In early July we planted a some veggies for a fertilizer experiment

In early July we planted some veggies for a fertilizer experiment.

Here I am holding up one of the final results.

Here I am holding up one of the final results.

We also had the opportunity to visit a tutoring program operated through our organization.

We also had the opportunity to visit a tutoring program operated through our organization.

This is the view a few hours inland at a Bible College we were able to visit. I wish I could tell you I was trying to be artistic here, but really I just didn't realize my camera was set to black and white.

This is the view a few hours inland from us at a Bible College we were able to visit. I wish I could tell you I was trying to be artistic here, but really I just didn’t realize my camera was set to black and white.

Well, I hope you enjoyed this little glimpse into our lives. Please note that this recap pretty much only encompasses what we were up to in July, and we will hopefully have another post soon to let you all know more about what we were involved in in August. Thanks so much for reading and for all of your support!

Sampai Jumpa (See you later)!

2 thoughts on “Birds of a feather…fly into a giant birdhouse?

  1. Thanks for the update. How interesting about the nests. I recently saw on television or read an article about these nests in a natural cave. I am curious how the harvesting of these nests affects the reproductive ability of the swifts as I assume that is what the nest are for. Perhaps all harvesting is done post fledge.

    This sounds like an adventure of a lifetime. Although given the mobility of you young folks (not that I’m that old, just settled) this may be one of many.

    I am happy that you are safe and surrounded by loving and friendly people. Take care Meagan and Jessica – Uncle Tim

Leave a Reply

